5 Things To Know About Florida Auto Insurance Laws
Florida is unique in being just one of about a dozen states that observe no-fault auto insurance laws. This means that Florida motorists turn to their own insurance policies to cover damages from auto accidents before seeking compensation anywhere else. If an accident exceeds their PIP amount they may pursue a lawsuit against a negligent driver, but only after they’ve filed with their own insurance first.
There is a lot to learn about Florida auto insurance laws for motorists, and 5 important pieces of information are:
▪ $10,000 PDL insurance – Florida motorists, by law, must carry at least $10,000 in Property Damage Liability coverage as part of their insurance policy. This covers the other party’s property damages in the event you or someone else driving your vehicle is responsible for the accident.
▪ $10,000 PIP insurance – PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection, and this is what will be paying your injury related damages after an accident no matter what the cause of that accident may be. By law, Florida motorists must carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection. If any serious injury damages exceed the $10,000 threshold held by the driver, and the accident was caused by another driver’s negligence, they may then pursue a lawsuit to cover the rest of the damages.
▪ Lawsuits are reserved for serious injuries – An injured driver may only pursue a lawsuit if their injuries are considered to be serious and life altering. Before pursuing lawsuit, the driver must first exhaust their own insurance coverages. Auto accident lawsuits in Florida should involve a skilled and experienced personal injury attorney to prove that your injuries were severe, you’re entitled to more compensation than what is covered by your insurance, and that your injuries have lasting consequences.
▪ Non-emergency injury coverage is lower – While your personal injury protection will cover up to $10,000 at minimum according to your policy for emergency injuries, any non-emergency injuries have a limit of $2,500. An emergency injury would be an injury that requires immediate medical attention, while a non-emergency injury would be a mild soft tissue injury the motorist feels the next day or similar.
▪ Seek medical care within 14 days – It’s always best to seek medical care as quickly as possible after an accident, as waiting may give your insurance provider reason to deny your injury claim. If medical attention is not sought within 14 days of the accident, there is an overwhelming likelihood that your insurance provider will deny your claim and you will be responsible for your own injury damages. The longer an injured motorist waits to be evaluated by a medical professional, the more reason an insurance provider will have to have your claim denied.
Always Seek The Assistance Of A Personal Injury Lawyer
Whether complicated or simple, major or minor, it’s important to always seek the assistance of a personal injury lawyer after an auto accident in Florida. Insurance policies can be complicated, and insurance providers can think of many reasons to deny completely valid claims. Your personal injury lawyer in Florida can help you to navigate the insurance claims process, better ensuring you’re able to get the compensation you deserve.