Call Now For A Free Consultation 24/7 (941) 954-1234

Don’t Go Fishing For Damages Be Safe, While Out On The Water


Boats and Florida. Are the two just not synonymous? A big part of many lives in the state, boating can be great recreational fun. With over 8,000 miles of coastline and 3 million acres of lake, Florida is a boater’s dream – so much so that Florida ranks first overall nationally for boating participation. However, boating should also be taken extremely seriously in regards to accidents, as injurious and fatal boating accidents have been on the rise over recent years.

Boating Accidents In Florida

Just like cars, motorcycles, and other vehicles, boats pose a risk of injury to riders, occupants, and bystanders. Accidents can occur just about anywhere – on water, on land, at docks, in marinas, and anywhere in between. Just as Florida ranks first in boating participation, they also rank first in boating accidents per year. Boat accidents tend to typically involve heavy property damages, and can often involve multiple defendants. Potential defendants who could be liable include:

• The owner or operator of a boat you were on
• The owner or operator of a boat that made contact with you
• Manufacturers – of the boat, or of any safety equipment
• The dock or marina owner
• Anyone else who’s negligence participated in yours or your loved one’s injuries

Negligence

Speaking of negligence – it is probably the single biggest factor in determining fault for personal injury or property damage in a boating accident. Negligence can be defined as the failure to act with reasonable care. Just because you were injured in a boating accident does not necessarily mean that it was the result of negligence – although it certainly could.

Much like a car accident, individuals injured as a result of negligence may be entitled to compensation, which could include payment of medical bills, lost wages, and reimbursement for pain and suffering that occurred as a result of the accident. Insurance may become a tricky factor if the negligent party does not have boaters’ insurance. An individual’s motor vehicle insurance does not cover injuries that occur on a boat.

Mandates In Regard To An Accident

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conversation Commission states that the operator of a vessel involved in boating accident that results in personal injury, or property damage of at least $2,000, must give notice to either the FWC, the sheriff of the county in which the accident occurred, or the police chief of the municipality in which the accident occurred. Much like a motor vehicle accident, it is against the law for any person operating a vessel involved in a boating accident to leave the scene without rending all possible aid to those involved, and without reporting the accident to the aforementioned authorities.

If you have been involved in an accident, it is advised that you seek medical attention first. Not only is this best for your well-being, but it can document injuries that occurred as a result of the accident. Florida personal injury victims have four years from the date of the accident to file a claim for monetary compensation.

Attorney David Goldman has a strong belief that everyone should be treated fairly and those with the means should do what they can to bring justice in all areas of our society. That belief has led him to help Florida's injured from being taken advantage of by corporations and insurance companies. Since 1989 David Goldman has been fighting for the rights of Floridians both as an attorney and by personally supporting our community.

Don’t Go Fishing For Damages Be Safe, While Out On The Water

Goldman Babboni Fernandez
Murphy & Walsh




Attorney Case Review
Get The Justice
You Deserve

Free Attorney Consultation

Law offices
Near you

Serving All Of Southwest Florida