Nine Commonly Broken Florida Driving Laws
Not all traffic laws are the same in every state. Each state, including Florida, have their own rules of the road. Traffic laws are important. They are in place to protect all drivers and keep traffic flowing. With the many tourists that visit our state every year and the part time residents here for the winter, there is often confusion about what laws they have to follow. As a result, our state has one of the highest accident rates in the country.
Florida Traffic Laws That Many Drivers Get Wrong.
In an effort to help everyone follow the rules of the law and protect you from liability in an accident we have listed the following list of traffic laws that drivers in Florida may not be aware of including:
• Right On Red: Florida allows you to turn right on red. Before turning, however, you must come to a full stop, you must look for pedestrians and yield to them. At no time can you turn right on a red arrow.
• Not Driving The Speed Limit: Always be aware of the posted speed limit and you will not be ticketed because you didn't know what the limit was. You can also receive a ticket for driving too slow. You must drive with the flow of traffic, otherwise, you could back up traffic and cause an accident.
• Move Over Act: The move over act states you must move over the next lane or drive at least 20 miles below posted speed limits when emergency vehicles are stopped in front of you on interstates and other highways.
• Entrance Ramp Speed: Entrance ramps on highways and interstates are designed so that drivers can merge into oncoming cars safely. A driver should gradually increase their speed so they can safely signal and merge. Do not stop or slow down.
• Rolling Stops: A rolling stop is when the driver slows for a red light or stop sign but does not come to a complete stop. This occurs often when the driver is in a hurry so they slow down, roll up to the stop and then speed up.
• Buzzed Driving: Florida Highway Patrol states that buzzed driving is considered drunk driving. Even a few beers can take your blood alcohol concentration higher than the legal limit. If you are in an accident, and you are over the legal limit it can result in your license being suspended and if any injuries or property damage occur, can result in you facing jail time.
• Failure To Follow At A Safe Distance: Known commonly as tailgating, it is against the law. Your best bet is to stay one car length behind the driver ahead of you.
• Texting While Driving: As of 2019 it is illegal to text and drive, however you can still use your phone for GPS or emergency calls. You also cannot use a cell phone at all in school or work zones.
• Indicating A Turn: Using your turn signal to indicate you are going in a different direction or changing lanes is easy to do yet almost half of drivers do not use their indicators. The law is turn on your indicator for at least five seconds before turning or changing lanes.
These laws are pretty straightforward and if you follow them, you’ll reduce your risk of being liable for an accident.
In Florida, we also use a system of comparative fault. So even when the other driver is clearly at fault for the accident, say they are drunk or ran a red light, if you were also violating traffic laws, you may be held liable for part of the accident. Also keep in mind if you are ever in an accident, you have help. The attorneys at Justice Pays are always here for you. With over 100 years of combined experience in the Southwest Florida region, we know how the laws work and can help protect you after an accident. Contact us anytime to learn more. We even offer a free case review for all our clients.