What You Should Know When You Get Into a Car Accident In Florida
If you ever get into a car accident in Florida, there is a certain law in this state that you need to be aware of. Read on to learn more about it.
The No-Fault Law
Florida requires all licensed drivers to carry no-fault insurance coverage. The no-fault law, which went into effect in 1972, helps cut down on individuals needing public assistance due to traffic accidents. The Florida government also believes that the no-fault law can help lower the caseload and conserve the resources in the state court system.
A lot of drivers think that this type of insurance covers all of the expenses that arise because of an auto accident, but that is not the case. A driver who causes the car accident may still be liable for compensation to a victim who suffers injury or ends up dying.
What You Should Do
In Florida, drivers should stop at the scene of an accident to help the victims. In addition, if the injuries or damages are over $500, they must be reported to local law enforcement.
If you are the victim of a car accident and you have injuries, you are required to stay at the scene and provide the necessary information along with everyone else involved. It’s also essential to take photos of the damage to all the affected vehicles.
Here in the state of Florida, all drivers are required to have car insurance, and they must always carry proof of their insurance inside their vehicle. The required minimum insurance drivers should have is $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 for property damage liability (PDL).
Since this is a no-fault state, each person’s insurance company will pay for their own accident-related expenses, regardless of who is liable for the incident. This allows for faster payment of medical bills without waiting for fault to be determined. However, you need to report any auto accident to your insurer immediately. Your insurance company will make a fault determination after they receive your auto accident or existing police report.
If the auto accident causes more damage or injuries than what your insurance covers, you can sue for additional compensation through a personal injury lawsuit.
Car Settlement Amounts
Civil courts in Florida consider a wide range of factors when determining the settlement amount in a car accident. That includes the following:
• Severity of injuries
• Cost of medical care
• Loss of current and future wages due to injuries
• Degree of fault
• Insurance coverage
How To Pursue Compensation
With the no-fault law in effect in Florida, car accident victims can still get compensation for other damages in case of a severe injury. For that type of claim, the victim must meet specific requirements. For example, if they sustain a permanent injury or pass away, that is already grounds for the victim or their loved ones to pursue compensation for pain and suffering, reduced quality of life, and other types of loss.
When you get into a car accident in Florida and end up suffering from extensive injuries, it’s possible for you to recover additional compensation. You can make the process easier with the help of a seasoned personal injury lawyer.